Skip to main content
File:Fairfield Entrance.JPG|thumb|right|225px|Main Entrance and Alumni House '''Fairfield University''' is a private, co-educational undergraduate and master's level teaching-oriented university located in Fairfield, Connecticut|Fairfield, Connecticut, in the New England region of the United States. It was founded by the Society of Jesus in 1942, and today is one of 28 member institutions of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities. The primary objectives of a Fairfield University education are to develop the creative intellectual potential of its students and to foster in them ethics|ethical and Philosophy of religion|religious values and a sense of social responsibility. All schools of the university are committed to a liberal Humanism|humanistic approach to education, which encourages interdisciplinary learning. About 3,500 undergraduate and 1,200 graduate students
Latin nameUniversitas Fairfieldensis
Motto''Per Fidem ad Plenam Veritatem'' ({{small|Latin}})
Mottoeng''Through Faith to the Fullness of Truth''
TypePrivate university|Private, nonprofit, research
AffiliationRoman Catholic Church|Roman Catholic (Society of Jesus|Jesuit)
ChairmanWilliam L. Atwell, P'08{{cite web|url= |title=Fairfield University Board of Trustees |publisher=Fairfield University |date=February 28, 2011 |accessdate=November 14, 2011}}
PresidentRev. Jeffrey P. von Arx, S.J.
ProvostLynn Babington{{cite web|url=,75259,en.html |title=Dr. Lynn Babington Named Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs |publisher=Fairfield University |accessdate=July 4, 2014}}
FacultyTotal: 546
- 257 full-time
- 289 part-time[ University Faculty Statistics]
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid